NEED ADVICE! SHOULD I DROP ORGANIC 2?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

FUTUREPHARMACIST

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm currently a sophomore pre-pharmacy major. I took Organic 1 last January and made a D because I slacked off on studying. I then took the class again the following summer (around 4-5 weeks long) and made a B, but I didn't really learn the reactions well. I'm in org. 2 now. Should I drop the class and take org. 1 again to really learn the reactions or should I stay in org. 2 and just review from org. 1? Has anyone else passed org.2 with an A without having a good foundation in org. 1? HELP, ADVICE NEEDED!

Members don't see this ad.

I'm surprised that your school allowed you to take Orgo 2 with a below average grade in Orgo 1. For example, UNC requires that students pass the pre-requisite class with a C- or greater.

Since Orgo 2 builds on the knowledge that you learned in Orgo 1, you should retake Orgo 1 this semester.

No I was I the same situation as you and orgo 2 is very different from orgo 1 in my opinion why take again when you've passed

Members don't see this ad :)
I'm surprised that your school allowed you to take Orgo 2 with a below average grade in Orgo 1. For example, UNC requires that students pass the pre-requisite class with a C- or greater.

Since Orgo 2 builds on the knowledge that you learned in Orgo 1, you should retake Orgo 1 this semester.

After making a D in org. 1 I retook it and made a B. Now i'm in org.2

You got a B on the retake. Don't waste your time and money retaking again.

Reactions: 1 user
Since you made a B in your second attempt, there's no real point in retaking the class. However, if you don't know the reactions well, you could be in for some trouble in Orgo 2. Study the reactions hard while learning the new stuff since most professors assume that you know Orgo 1 material already so that implied knowledge can appear on your Orgo 2 exams.