Need Help, 28 MCAT, 3.76 gpa.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

traviszj

TTZJZJ
7+ Year Member
Reaction score
In a MAJOR pickle, I got a 28 (8/10/10) PS apparently killed me.. I didn't study a lot, hadn't taken the second half of ochem, kind of rushed it to avoid the new MCAT. I don't know if I should apply with that, or retake. It is literally the one score i didn't want to get because I knew how hard it would be to decide about.. My cgpa is 3.76 and sgpa 3.8, I have good ECs, (school gov, red cross board of directors, leadership position in school volunteer program, school cadaver lab coordinator, run a program to teach youth anatomy, those are a few..) Good shadowing hours, clinical experience, I am a Utah resident. WHAT DO I DO, any suggestions from anyone in similar situations or know someone from a similar situation? PLEASE HELP!

Members don't see this ad.

I would personally retake if you feel you can do much better on the new one, but I understand that would be a huge time commitment. You can alternatively attempt applying and see what happens.

Reactions: 1 users
I would retake also. 28 isn't a bad score, but with a good GPA like yours, a higher MCAT would open many doors.

According to last year's data. You have a ~45% chance of acceptance right now with that GPA/MCAT combo.

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
I applied with the same MCAT score and a lower GPA and got an acceptance (I did plan to retake if I didn't get in this cycle). I think you can apply, but apply widely. Like very widely.
~45% chance of an acceptance isn't too bad, but also think about strengthening that MCAT and plan on retaking.