need help narrowing school list

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

derrecklazer

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi folks,

My stats are 3.8cGPA (counting two Cs in HS), 3.9sGPA, 31 MCAT, and mediocre ECs. I'm a Cali resident. I would appreciate help with narrowing down this list of 30 to the 22 most OOS-friendly schools. If I have left out any OOS friendly schools please let me know. Thank you in advance!!

Albany
Buffalo
SLU
U of Central Florida
SUNY Downstate
NYMC
Rosalind Franklin
Tulane
USF Morsani
Oakland Beaumont
Qunnipiac
Jefferson
Stony Brook
West Virginia
Rush
Penn State
SUNY Upstate
Drexel
Temple
Eastern Virginia
U Maryland
Medical College of Wisconsin
Wright
U Toledo
George Washington
U Illinois
VCU
Commonwealth
U Arizona (Phoenix)
U Arizona (Tuscon)

Members don't see this ad.

This is what you are looking for: https://www.aamc.org/download/321442/data/factstable1.pdf

I wouldn't call SUNY Downstate or UPSTATE out of state friendly. Commonwealth and Illinois aren't out of state friendly either I'd scratch those unless you really have a reason to want to go there.

I'm copying this from another thread but these are some of the less competitive of the MD schools(if less competitive is such a thing).

UCs school
Albany Medical College
Cooper Medical School of Rowan University
Drexel University College of Medicine
Loma Linda University School of Medicine
Loyola University Chicago Stritch School of Medici
New York Medical College
Oakland University William Beaumont School of Medicine
Quinnipiac University SOM
Rosalind Franklin University of Medicine and Scien
Rush Medical College
Sidney Kimmel Medical College at Thomas Jefferson University
State University of New York Downstate Medical Cen
Stony Brook University School of Medicine
SUNY at Buffalo Medical School
SUNY Upstate Medical University
Temple University School of Medicine
The Commonwealth Medical College