Need help, what are my chances?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Shoryuken17

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all,

I am applying this Summer, I have some worries... I was a high school drop out (got GED), and I have a misdemeanor from approximately 10 years ago, unsure of what my actual charge was and when I ran a background check it didn't show up.... so I don't know how to approach this either.

Anyways I am an Indiana resident and would like to attend IU. Should I consider EDP? Is there any chance my troubled past would cause a significant decrease in my chances?

GPA: 3.99 cGPA, 3.99 sGPA
MCAT: taking in a month (what would I need for this to be competitive with everything else I have done?)

Clinical:
ED volunteering ~175 hours
Family medicine shadowing: ~30 hours, looking for more as we speak.

Volunteering:
Food pantry ~50 hours
Math and Reading tutoring for adults (HSE seeking): ~100 hours
Volunteer science tutoring: ~100 hours

Research: 2 labs for a total of ~400 hours

TA:
Biology
Chemistry

Should have at least 3 good letters of recommendation.

Leadership positions:
One or two.... nothing too exciting

Thanks to anyone who can help

Members don't see this ad.

Members don't see this ad :)