Need Honest Assessment, Please!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

soccer_referee

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am an individual of many passions, too many in my case and it has led me to where I am today. I have no regrets for the actions/paths I have taken, but ultimately every decision I have made has led me to this...attempting to get into medical school.

Here's my story...

I am current 29 years old, I tried for medical school after I graduated with my BS in Biology in 2006 and needless to say I didn't get an interview, to low of a gpa/mcat score. Overall GPA:2.98

After that I decided that I would continue my education and go for a MS in Biology, so from 2006-2008, I was in the master's program, completed all required coursework, and thesis with an overall GPA:3.75, however I did not pass my comprehensive exams, therefore could not complete the master's program. (For clarification, it was not an academic dismissal, I could go back and finish but I would have to repeat everything, including the classes I have already taken, at the time this was not possible, nor is it for me today).

In the last month before I left school, I got offered a fulltime job, which is where I have been working now for the past 4 years as an aquatic biologist. During this time I have had exposure to IT in the form of application development (creating application specific to my work function). To make a long story short I had to split my time between the biology and programming (although they are related).