need some advice...and encouragement!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

willwork4school

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all! I am new to the forum...well, signed up a while back but am back on seriously and this is my first post. I decided last year that being a dentist is the ideal career for me on so many levels so I am pursuing very hard and in the process of applying for 2011, and I am optimistic thinking worst case I will get in 2012 - hopefully!

Here's my history and what I am doing, and I'm looking for any feedback, input, or advice.

I got a degree in Environmental Science with a minor in Chemistry in December 2005 - GPA 3.02
I took 21 credits of Information Technology Post-Bacc courses and received a certificate in applied sciences in information systems from 2007-2008 at an accredited universtiy - GPA 3.9
In fall of 2009 I got back into school full time to get into dental school and have since received a 4.0 for all science courses since as I am really focusing my studies on my goal - 31 credits of science including Biology, Chemistry (retakes because I hadn't had general chem since 2001-2002), Cell Biology, Microbiology, Genetics, Biochemistry, Physics II.
I am in a Post-Bacc Health Sciences program designed for post bacc boosting their application for medical/dental for the upcoming fall and spring 2011 which will give me another 30 or so credits of higher level Biology e.g. Bacteriology, Endocrinology, Anatomy, etc. and planning on getting 4.0's in all those.
The problem I'm running into is the volume of credits I have - these 4.0 semesters don't bring up my cum GPA too much! Anyway all said and done I think overall it will be a 3.4ish with a ton of high level bio course.
I am taking the Kaplan DAT prep course now and hoping for a 20 or higher of course.