Need some last minute help (3.65 cGPA, 3.57 sGPA, 37M)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

jdover52

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys, so I've been reading a lot of MDapps and threads on SDN and starting to get freaked out about the whole process (I really would like to get in somewhere and not have to reapply). I'm a VA resident, go to Wash U undergrad. My cGPA is 3.65, sGPA is 3.57, MCAT is 37M (13V, 12 BS, 12PS). EC's include:
-4 years of research during college (including full time during summers), no publications though :(
-5 months of shadowing in ER, also started shadowing this summer to get some more clinical experience
-Involved with orientation, tour guide, freshmen advisor, etc
My AMCAS already verified, cover letter/LOR's should be done by next week, my list of schools atm:

Einstein
BU
Case Western
Columbia
Drexel
Emory
Eastern Virginia
GW
Michigan
Mount Sinai
Pitt
PSU
Upenn
UVA
Vanderbilt
VCU
Wash U
Wake Forest

I feel like I've applied pretty broadly as I realize my GPA is on the low end and my EC's aren't anything amazing, I grew up in Pittsburgh and only moved to VA after high school hence why all the PA schools. I was wondering if I should add a few more mid/low tier schools? If so, does anyone have any suggestions that seem to be a good fit for me? Ideally, I would like to be near a big city... thanks in advance

Members don't see this ad.

Your GPA is right at average, so stop worrying about that. Your clinical experience is a bit lacking, but you should be able to get by. Your list of schools looks pretty good to me. It might be a little reach-heavy, but that's probably okay with 3 great state schools at your disposal.