Need some tips on mask ventilation

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

aimedicine

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I understand that mask vent. is one of the most important skill you need to have as anesthesiologist..

.as a medical student i struggle sometimes with mask ventilation, i have very large hands and proper hand placement but sometimes i have trouble getting a proper seal/air leakage...when i move the mask to cover the air leakage on one side, it just starts leaking somewhere else...any tips?? how can i improve?

Members don't see this ad.

I understand that mask vent. is one of the most important skill you need to have as anesthesiologist..

.as a medical student i struggle sometimes with mask ventilation, i have very large hands and proper hand placement but sometimes i have trouble getting a proper seal/air leakage...when i move the mask to cover the air leakage on one side, it just starts leaking somewhere else...any tips?? how can i improve?

practice.

use both hands to pull the mask wide and apply to the face. thumbs holding the mask on, use both hands to pull the mandible up towards the ceiling, then transition the vector of your force to pulling towards the wall behind your back. this extends the neck a bit. keep the left hand on the mask and face pulling back towards you and bag with the right. this way you can use the big muscles in your back and arm to keep the jaw up while you bag. it is very difficult to try to do this with the small muscles in your hand and anterior shoulder with a vector towards the ceiling.

it is difficult to try to pull the mandible up with the fingers of one hand. it is easier to use both hands to apply the mask, get a good fit, pull the mandible up, and then pull back to keep the mandible up and transition to bagging with one hand.

oral airways make this easier, especially when beginning.

pull hollow cheeks up to the mask edges.