Neurology

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

abcdSwim

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Any thoughts on military neurology?

Looking into it as a possible residency, just wondering if anyone out there has information on residencies. I am an AF med student.

Members don't see this ad.

Does anyone have a link to show AF GME sites for this past year or the year coming? I think my internet skills have taken a beating; im not really able to find any good information.

Correct me if I am wrong; but I have not been able to find any AF neurology residency? However, it looks like you can do a 4th year clerkship in neurology at BAMC? Has neuro been very competitive in the AF lately?

It looks like the Air Force has been giving 5 neuro spots each year. I'm guessing they are all civilian deferred?

Let me know if I am on the right track here. Just trying to figure out a few things while on break from rotations.

Thank you

Members don't see this ad :)
Correct me if I am wrong; but I have not been able to find any AF neurology residency? However, it looks like you can do a 4th year clerkship in neurology at BAMC? Has neuro been very competitive in the AF lately?

It looks like the Air Force has been giving 5 neuro spots each year. I'm guessing they are all civilian deferred?

Let me know if I am on the right track here. Just trying to figure out a few things while on break from rotations.

Thank you

I am army and was recently PCSed to Fort Hood. Upon my arrival there, I met a few of the peds guys from both army and AF that come up to fort hood once a week to do consults. I asked them about the perpetual lingering rumors of AF neurology residency closure. They are not aware of this and say its still going strong. Myself, being army, I was also jealous that we did not participate in the SAUSHEC program.