New Dx Bipolar

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Nsalva

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am an HPSP student. In first year I sought psychiatric treatment during my first semester, was diagnosed as bipolar II, and treated with medication. Prior to medschool, the highs and lows were not severe enough to compromise social or occupational function and I attributed them to a quirk in personality. It was not until first year of medical school, when I needed to adhere to a rigid study routine without compromise, and found that I could not do so due to the mood lability (and at this time, maybe because of the stressful first semester, the highs and lows had become more extreme) that I sought psychiatric treatment. Currently, in fourth year, I have mood lability comparable to what it was before I started medical school. My grades and scores are competitive. I am not incapacitated in any way.

I only recently disclosed this diagnosis to the military, via their website. I know I should not have waited this long, I acknowledge that up front. I had not realized that bipolar disorder is listed along with schizophrenia as a diagnosis that is incompatible with military service. I am wondering what to expect. I don't want to separate from the military. Does anyone have any experience with how the military addresses a post-commission diagnosis of bipolar in an HPSP student?

Members don't see this ad.