New grad job plan

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

john888

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

I am a recent graduate who is currently in the process of looking for a full-time position. I have passed naplex, but have not yet scheduled my MPJE.

I am willing to move to a different area of the country, but I'm primarily looking at states closer to the coasts as opposed to the midwest.

I'm wondering if it would be smart for me to wait on taking the MPJE for now, apply to jobs in multiple states to see what comes back, then take the appropriate state's MPJE once I accept a job? Or would it be better to simply pick a state and take that state's MPJE so that I am licensed, and then apply to jobs only within that state?

If I don't take the MPJE yet, I can cast a wider net by sending job applications to multiple states, but I'm not sure how much my lack of license would hurt my chances of landing something. Otherwise I could get licensed, and apply within one state, meaning my pool of possible jobs would be reduced.

Also, any recommendations on states with jobs, besides midwest? Any thoughts on NC, SC, TX?

And any other new grad job hunting advice would be much appreciated

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

You have to realize that most applicants you are competing against are already licensed so you are at a disadvantage if you are not.

My advise? Get license ASAP and don't be picky when applying for a job. Take whatever you can get. Remember you can always apply to another job once you have some pharmacist experience.

Posted using SDN Mobile

Reactions: 1 user
Why not apply to grad intern positions nationwide and wherever you get hired you can take the MPJE there.

Members don't see this ad :)
You do realize the coasts have been 99.999999% saturated since mid-2007?

Don't you need to tell the NABP which states should get your Naplex score before you take it?