New Texas Medical Schools

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Kelly11

Membership Revoked
Removed
7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi guys! I'm going to be applying next cycle, and as a Texas resident, i'm aware that we have 2 news schools opening: UT Austin and UT Edinburg (Pan American). I was wondering if UT Edinburg will focus on recruiting students that live in south texas near the border and accept more Latinos that other ethnicities. Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

I would assume so! I think the regional bias may be similar to the Tech schools. As for proportion of ethnicity, I think it would be more skewed towards Hispanics, but I think they would have a very diverse class still. This is just speculation though!

If Tech - El Paso is any indication, then yeah, their goal will probably be training primary care physicians for the area with a focus on Latino culture. But, also like El Paso, I'm sure they'll still cater to all sorts of students and specialties.

Members don't see this ad :)
These three for sure:

1. University of Texas at Austin - Dell Medical School
2. University of Texas–Rio Grande Valley
3. University of the Incarnate Word (DO school)

University of Houston is also in discussion of opening up a new medical school. 12 medical schools, possibly 13?! Woa.

Reactions: 1 user
University of Houston has been discussing that for around 6 years lol. They are pretty sure it's not going to happen, because Baylor and UT Houston already share the hospitals and there are already 2 schools in the city. Just my opinion though:)

whaaaa? I haven't heard of University of Incarnate word! Anything about that school seem worthy to note?

What hospitals do UT and Baylor share?