New to podiatry, need some questions answered!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

iliveinmyguitar

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys, I am looking into Podiatry at the moment. I graduated from college as a Bio major in May 2014 and am currently on my gap year. I was originally planning on applying to DO schools in October but due to my MCAT and a family situation I had to postpone applying. I've recently stumbled upon Podiatry and to me it sounds like something I will be interested in.

So here are my stats:

GPA: 3.45
sGPA: 3.5
MCAT: 23 (6V,7PS, 10BS), 23(5V,9PS, 9BS) :(

Education
Biology Major and Chemistry Minor
Dean’s list, September2012- May 2014
BLS certified
Bilingual

Work Experience

Clinical Assistant @emergency Department
Waiter/ Busboy @ restaurant Restaurant
Home security and entertainment company
Chemistry Tutor on campus
Private Guitar/ Music Tutor in my town

Extra-Curricular Activities

Biology Research Experience@ College
Co-Historian/Co-Vice President of Club
Member of Phi Delta Epsilon

Volunteer Work

EMS in my town
Senior Center helping out on the weekend

Hobbies/Interests

· Writing and Producing music
· Self-improvement and reading
· Exercising and hiking
· Meditation
· Cooking
· Traveling
- Really good at Trivia Crack :) lol jk

Questions:

What do I need to apply? Recommendation letters? shadowing?

Am I competitive? my GPA/MCAT/ ECs

What schools around the East Coast would you recommend for me? So far I have only heard of Temple and the school in NYC.

Is there a high demand for the service that podiatrists provide? I would imagine that Diabetic patients are common. How about sport medicine/ surgery? How does private practice fit into all of this?

Hows the $$$? I personally don't care as long as it allows for a comfortable lifestyle, but my parents ARE particularly interested in this aspect of my future lol.