New to this.. am I missing anything?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Kovalevskaya

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm 26, and I've finally decided that this is the time to get on track to go to med school. I have a bachelor's in math with a 3.75 cumulative GPA and a 3.89 science GPA, and I'm about to graduate with a master's in epidemiology. I've applied to a program that will allow me to take the science prereqs at night. I'm hoping to find out if I got into the program next week. I have 200 hours of volunteering in a hospital, but it's from high school (haha), so I'm seeing about volunteering at a hospice. I don't have any shadowing experience, but I work as a study coordinator for clinical trials, so I interact with patients regularly. Do I need specific shadowing experience? Is there anything else I'm missing at this point in the process?

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Your GPA is your fate, and you're in good shape in that regard. The most important thing is to keep your cumulative undergrad numbers up over 3.7.

The mistakes I most often see at this point in a "career change":

1. Not looking ahead at the schedule. You need to be completely done with your app in June (any June you like). That means your MCAT score is in hand in June, and it's the best score you can possibly get. That means you did your MCAT prep with rigor all spring long as your highest priority, and it means you got the prereqs done in time to do effective MCAT prep. Also it means that you started working on letters of recommendation around Xmas so that they're in hand in June, and you have all your ECs in an impressive state by June. (And then you keep doing ECs during your app year so you have things to talk about at interviews.)