Newbie Pharmacist

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Shortie09

Accepted Pharmacy Student
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone!:D

Just got licensed and eager to start working in a retail chain in the near future.

I have had work experience in the past in retail but as I am just starting out I would appreciate any advice regarding.. just being a new pharmacist starting out...

I realize it is going to be overwhelming at first but..Any helpful advice would be greatly appreciated. :)

Members don't see this ad.

Members don't see this ad :)
1. learn the system....from drop off to pick up. Why? cause you will be in a position where you will be by yourself and you will still have to get everything done.
2. if you work with a partner (or go solo), don't put them in a position you yourself wouldn't want to be put in. Communicate!
3. you will be treated as if you don't know anything with the techs by being a new grad. Get a notebook and any spare time you have LEARN how to do things. Because they may know the system, but they are not a Pharmacist.
4. Always keep your resume updated.

Reactions: 2 users
Don't do retail chain unless it's A) target pharmacy, B) grocery

Reactions: 1 users
eager to start working in a retail chain in the near future.
I would appreciate any advice regarding.. just being a new pharmacist starting out...
Any helpful advice would be greatly appreciated. :)

You really know how to ask for advice. Great start. You will learn a lot with humble attitude and sincere appreciation attitude. Keep your attitude and don't become arrogant like a lot of newbie I have seen (and I did not share much because they simply did not have sincere attitude to learn, accept and adopt.)

As a new pharmacist, you will be in charge. But it's a fine line between having power and upsetting people.