No possibility getting into vet school with very low GPA?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

bullyluver2011

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I graduated last year with my bachelors degree in animal science and really struggled thru chemistry's and physic's especially (made a D- in general chemistry, D- in organic 1 and a F in Organic 2 because I missed a test and the final counted for over 50% of my grade). Unfortunately my GPA was only a 2.27 but I did get my associate degree before transferring to the university and had a 3.26 gpa at the community college. I had to retake the general chemistry and organic chemistry at the university and still ended up making C's in them after retaking them. I plan on retaking physics 1 and organic chemistry 1 at the community college and I have not taken biochemistry yet or the GRE. The chemistry grades were over 3 years ago and I had kidney stones a lot and unfortunately was out of school right much because of them which is one reason my grades were so bad. There is probably no hope with me getting in to vet school though, I was looking at Ross university but I doubt I could even get in there. I'm not sure how to even calculate my overall GPA with both school's combined. Does anyone have any suggestions/advice? I would absolutely love to get into vet school but with my academic past I don't know if there would even be any hope of getting in.

Members don't see this ad.

My impression is you haven't mastered how to succeed in these tough science courses. You re-took a couple of classes already and are only managing Cs. That's not much of an improvement over your previous grades, unfortunately, and not enough to show adcoms that you've overcome whatever obstacles you had. Vet school is an even more rigorous environment than the one you're in now and they want to admit people they feel can succeed.