PhD/PsyD Non-Canadian International Student Post-Ph.D Outcome

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

VentureIntoNothingness

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,

First time posting. So I am a non-Canadian International Student and recently got an offer from a APA-accredited, relatively reputable (US News 47th), US Clinical Psych PhD program. I am thinking whether I should turn down the offer since I have offers from other PhD programs that seem to predict better job prospects. I am seeking advice/insight regarding possible outcome for non-Canadian International students who successfully complete a program.
Here are some information I gathered: CPT can be used for predoctoral internship and there are non-VA internship sites that international students can apply to. So at least I can get out of the PhD program. There are cases where non-US citizen obtain TT positions after PhD/Post-Doc (which also implies that there can be post-doc opportunities for international students). So Tenure-track academic position may be available (however, those seem to have graduated from more prestigious programs).
I understand that post-PhD outcomes often vary case by case and heavily depend on the individual's productivity during grad school. But I wonder if anyone who's been through this/know more about this can give me some information regarding the post-PhD employment prospect (both academic/non-academic).

Much appreciated!

Members don't see this ad.