DO Non-trad applying in 2 years...am I doing the right things?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

S-Dawg

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
1st time SDN-er... Here we go!

I am an AZ resident, 28yrs old, have a bachelor's degree in music education, taught band in the public schools for 4 years, and will be starting be starting the pre-req science sequence this coming fall at the local community college. I will be spending two years completing those courses, taking the MCAT in two years from now (April 2016), and applying to DO schools (and probably a few MD schools, the two here for sure) in June of 2016. By the time I apply, I'll have around a 3.65 cgpa and 3.85 bcpm.

Clinical Experience:
-I have just under 100 hours volunteering at a local hospital in a role with constant patient contact. Basically, I visit with as many patients as I can to chat with them, make sure they are doing as well as they can be, and get them anything they need (or find their nurse if it is something out of a volunteer's league). I am really enjoying this experience and will continue volunteering there for the next two years until I start medical school, accumulating roughly in excess of 500 hours there.

-I haven't done much shadowing as of yet, but will begin some this summer and continue intermittently until I have at least 100 hours .

-In the fall, I am going to track down a job as an ER scribe and hopefully continue that through the time a start medical school.

Non-Clinical:
-Working as a public school teacher for four years was a great opportunity and provided many lessons regarding working with others, leading others, working as a team, putting others' needs before mine, etc.