Non trad- long story- some questions

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Torshi81

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello! After many years of lurking I am posting with the hope of some advice! Thanks in advance for reading. I'll try to make this short (sorry)!

I graduated with a b.s. in business administration (marketing) in 02' and due to a very poor start I ended up with a cGpa- 2.97 (with an upward trend). I'm not sure what my sGpa would be as I only took 2 math classes and one science class (one D+ and two As).

I worked a couple years, and I made the decision to try for dental school. This is not a decision I made lightly and in a rushed manner.

So after the birth of my first child I began to take my pre-reqs at night at a local university. So far I have taken chem1&2, and physics1 (earning the highest grade in each class) while taking care of an infant full time.

I am currently pregnant again (bad timing but oh well) and plan on taking ochem1, bio1 and physics 2 in my second and third trimester and then taking the spring semester for maternity leave.

I have several questions.

1. Do I need ochem2 for the DAT? (Different sources argue whether ochem2 is actually needed and my dentist friends are split on this as well.)

2. For fall 2017 matriculation I wouldn't be able to apply early (June 2016) as I wouldn't be able to take my DAT until mid August (after completing bio2 during a summer session). Would mid-August or early September be too late to apply?

3. Other than the pre-reqs, how important are the recommended coursework? I was planning on taking some recommended coursework concurrently with applying.