Non-traditional md/phd

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

SwearIdNeverMakeAnAccount

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Read the sticky but need advice on where to go from here

Year: 1st year MS student
cGPA in 2012: 2.7 (business major, wasn't motivated for school)
cGPA in 2014: 3.01 (after taking 2 years of pre-requisites for med school)
sGPA: 3.4 (got a C+ in general chemistry and calc 1 when I was a freshman years ago but retook)
Postbacc GPA: 3.6 (Got B+'s, A-'s and A's in all the pre-requisites)
Currently: Have a 4.0 in a Masters program (physiology and biophysics) at a top 25 med school
MCAT: 30 (12PS/7V/11BS)- planning on retaking 2015 mcat, or current mcat if seats magically open
Non-clinical volunteering: 1000+ hours at a local non-profit agency focused on drug/alcohol addiction
Clinical Volunteering: ~40 hours at local hospital, and just recently at my program found a volunteer position that will give me 40 more hours by the time I apply as a motivational health coach
Shadowing: about 100 hours (pathology, GI, Pulmonology, Family Medicine, Plastic Surgery)
Research: did 1 year of undergraduate research in Biology Department (was in plants- sparked my interest in research, but not in plants). Won a research award through my university, presented poster at my schools research symposium, submitted abstract at American Plant Biology symposium. By the time I (tentatively) apply this summer I will have 1 year of graduate research. I am a research intern at the department of plastic surgery. It is one of the top programs in the country, should definitely have at lease a clinical publication (not that publications are necessary), but will mainly be doing basic science research.