Nontrad-ish low uGPA overall, but good sGPA

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mfas

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I had a rough going of the first two years of undergrad due illness of my childhood best friend/roommate and lack of direction. He is now fine, and as he recovered so did my performance in school once I looked toward medicine (thanks to friend's illness). Turned around from 1st science course forward and sGPA is 3.44 according to AACOMAS, but overall 2.81 :thumbdown: .

I worked as an EMT-B and then as a cardiographic technician for two years after that. I'm now in grad school and doing research at a great medical school for Cell biology, I should have a first author publication before leaving, and a grad GPA of 3.5+. Also will be able to get LORs from a med school professor and my PI. Previously took the MCAT and got 25T. I plan on taking them late spring/early summer with more studying this time around, and think I've a good shot at 32+ based on practice exams. Would I have a chance at DO with this cGPA holding me down?

Members don't see this ad.

I had a rough going of the first two years of undergrad due illness of my childhood best friend/roommate and lack of direction. He is now fine, and as he recovered so did my performance in school once I looked toward medicine (thanks to friend's illness). Turned around from 1st science course forward and sGPA is 3.44 according to AACOMAS, but overall 2.81 :thumbdown: .