Nontraditional Seeking Advice 3.81 24R

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Menchie

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi Everyone!

I have been a long time lurker at SDN, and now I have decided to post, seeking advice!

I graduated 2 years ago from a big state west coast school. I took time off due to the death of multiple family members my senior year in a car accident. I took my MCAT right after this occurred in 2011, which was a MISTAKE (I know). I was immature and dumb and I have really grown and learned from my mistake and this experience.

Anyways. I applied to DO schools this cycle and was accepted to multiple schools. I am extremely appreciative of these acceptances and I put the payment down for one.

I am not by any means trying to start an MD vs DO thread. But my dream has been to attend my state school, not because its MD but because I love it and my current fiance just found out this week he got accepted and after losing multiple close family members, I value relationships and support.

I am not a person to do things for a check list like most premeds are, I value time and effort put into something I am interested in. However I do think I need to supplement my app in some way. Does any one have any advice?

Here are my ECs, stats:

White, Female Perm. Resident

Bio Major, Spanish and Pscyh Minors: 3.76 sgpa, 3.8 cgpa 24R (plan to retake in June, aiming for 30) Have only taken it once. Was scoring 27-30 on my aamcs. However I am older and can actually take time off to study.

-UG research: 4 years, 2 awards, 1 publication, 6 posters 3 abstracts
-currently Research Tech at an Ivy league full time 2 years: 2 pubs, edit: 4 abstractss, one nature paper just accepted

-I worked 30 hours a week waitressing during UG and still waitress on weekends.
-Represented my school as a honors research ambassador
-Shadowing: approximately 300 hours since 2010 multiple fields, MDs and DOs