Not doing residency with stellar stats

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

whoknowswhen

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys,

I am a long time lurker and decided to ask a question.

The bottom line is, I have good stats: I am the first in my class (1/65), can get some good references, some extracurricular activities... I play sports and feel pretty good about my interview skills. I am one of the top producing students in my clinic, so it's not like I am just textbook smart.

I studied my ass off to maintain that class rank thinking that I would specialize one day. But it turns out that I don't really want to specialize at this point. There really isn't anything out there that interests me enough to invest 3-6 years of my life plus pay another 200k for tuition. I've thought about residency in AEGD/GPR but I feel like I can achieve most of those skill sets with some continuing education courses in the next couple of years. I will probably get burned for saying this but some students NEED 1yr residency to figure out what the f. it is that they are doing: I am not one of those. I learn fast and I have very good hands.

All in all, I feel like all that work was for nothing.

Any thoughts?

Members don't see this ad.

Not all for nothing, as you should have picked up a lot more information with that effort. You should do what will make you happy and satisfied in a career, and not base a decision on what is expected of a person with good stats.

Members don't see this ad :)
Was this a diary entry that accidentally made it to SDN?

Haha. My thoughts exactly when first reading this post.

There really isn't anything out there that interests me enough to invest 3-6 years of my life plus pay another 200k for tuition.