Not even competitive for postbacc? Support and/or reality checks needed!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

eloso

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi SDN,

Long-time reader, first-time poster. I'm hoping to find some advice and maybe hear from other people who were in the same boat as me.
  • I graduated 2 years ago from a competitive UC with 2.7 cGPA and 1.5 sGPA. I showed an upward trend in my grades only after switching to humanities and then a not-so-stellar last semester as I went through the whole job search. I got B's and C's in Bio, Chem, and OChem, but F's in Math and Physics.
  • I was avidly interested in science but didn't want to and didn't feel that I needed to compete with the premed kids since I didn't think I wanted to go into medicine. I wanted to take the classes for fun but knew ultimately I could just switch my major and go into business later on (and I did and now I have a job that pays well and most people would find very fulfilling).
As you can guess, now I want to go to med school. I will save you all the reasons why, but I am wondering:

(1) Can I even get into a postbacc program (I live in SF)? What would I need to do first?

(2) If I can, and if I spend the next 3-4 years getting clinical/volunteer experience, doing well on the MCAT (I know I'm going to need a 36+), and getting a 4.0 postbacc...will it be enough??

Help? Thank you in advance for the support and advice (constructive or otherwise)

Members don't see this ad.

From a 2.7 you shouldn't be looking at formal premed postbac programs. Too confining. And no, you can't get in with low stats. Programs like Mills/Scripps want students who have already proven their academics. They also want people who haven't taken the prereqs yet. You need to retake the prereqs, as part of a multiple year academic recovery. Give up on having this work out for you on any kind of schedule or on any rational budget.