Not sure what to do Postbacc vs SMP?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

distillation

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm in dire need of some help. I am not really sure what to do. To give a recap, I graduated in May of 2014 with a 3.3 cGPA and 3.0 sGPA. I graduated with a double major in Biology and Economics. I am more certain than I ever was that I would like to go for my MD. However, I am 22 years old and do not have the intention on applying directly to medical school. I am slightly concerned with my age; if I cannot improve myself sufficiently over the next two years, I will likely pursue my other preferred career outside of medicine.

Since graduating, I spent the whole summer traveling and returned in September. I began preparing for a January 2015 MCAT test date from September-Jan. And took the test on Jan 23, 2015. I got my results back in February. Essentially, I bombed the MCAT got a 24, much lower than I had expected. It was then I decided to postpone applying to some graduate programs that cycle.

Since March, I began applying to various biology (lab technician, research assistant) and economic-related (data analyst, consultant, etc.) jobs. Unfortunately, I have yet to get an offer although I have had a few interviews.

Now it is the end of May, and I have been officially graduated for one year without doing much. I am enrolled in a MCAT 2015 course scheduled to start in June, which can be adjusted.

My current plan is to retake the MCAT and achieve the best score that I can. To ensure this I would like to give myself as much time as possible to prepare. At the same time, I will continue to apply to jobs and if accepted would work and study for the MCAT simultaneously.