Not Sure Where to Begin

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

bearcub27

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello! I've been lurking on the Non-Trad forum for quite some time, but as I learn more about the non-traditional application process, more questions have been forming in my mind. Here's a little background about me:

Undergrad: I went to a Jesuit university in the Midwest where I studied Philosophy (minor in Ethics) with a 3.81 GPA (3.96 in my major). I took Chem I and II and Bio II during my freshman year, but got Bs/Cs in them (I had a really nasty bout of mono during finals and swine flu during the early part of the semester. Also, I'm pretty sure that I just didn't know how to study back then!). After my freshman year, I lost a lot of motivation to continue with science courses (even though I loved science and performed very well in high school). At that same time, I discovered philosophy and fell in love with it. My interests shifted and I eventually abandoned the sciences altogether.

Post-Undergrad
: I'm now enrolled in law school at that same university (just finished my second year) with a 3.23 GPA. (This places me in the top 25% of my class. In law school, percentile ranking is crucial and my school is notorious for very strict curves.) When I graduate, I'll have about $65,000 in loans (from both undergrad and law school. It's not as much as some, but it is still pretty hefty).