About the ads

Now I'm a resident...?!

Discussion in 'Pharmacy Residencies and Fellowships' started by nerdswagg88, May 2, 2012.

1. SDN is a nonprofit organization. Services are made possible through the generous support of SDN members and sponsors. Thank you.
  1. nerdswagg88

nerdswagg88

Resident [Any Field]

SDN Members don't see this ad. (About Ads)
    For those past or current pharmacy residents, do you have any advice for those about to embark on residency or any tips you would like to provide on how to be efficient.. any pitfalls to watch out for? interesting anecdotes appreciated :)
  2. nerdswagg88

nerdswagg88

Resident [Any Field]
    No takers???? Eee.... Am I missing the other section of sdn for current residents?????
  3. KARM12

KARM12 Super Member

Pharmacist
    SDN 7+ Year Member
    No, but there are plenty of posts on this topic. Use the search.
  4. xiphoid2010

xiphoid2010

Pharmacist
    SDN 7+ Year Member
    My recommendation is to front load as much of your projects (drug Infos, monographs, topic discussions, reasrch proposal, MUE) as possible. Things are slower in the first half, especially when waiting on IRB approval, but quickly ramps up once the main research gets approved. Drug info and MUE requests pop up intermittently, grab the early ones so you won't be competing for one with other residents closer to the end. So I wouldn't "ease yourself" into the residency, go full throttle ASAP.

You might be branded a workaholic at first, but later you get to sit back and watch your fellow residents stressing over getting things together just before the residency conference. :p
  5. nerdswagg88

nerdswagg88

Resident [Any Field]
    Sure will, any specific keywords to use...? Otherwise let me start sorting:)
  6. nerdswagg88

nerdswagg88

Resident [Any Field]
    Thank you! I'm super excited to get started but am not sure what/how to be most efficient in the beginning. That is excellent advice :)