MD NY resident - 3.4GPA, 31MCAT with post-bacc - What are my chances?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

patientvomits

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a NY resident that graduated with a BA in Biology, and am now in a post-bacc program, taking upper level science course work at UPenn.

My GPA is low because of poor grades in my sophomore year (including physics and organic chemistry). I retook them for A (in physics) and B/B+ (for orgos). I have an upward trend in my last year and a half of undergrad, and will have almost all A's for the eight classes of this post-bacc program (besides one B+). I have taken lots of relevant coursework, like physiology, anatomy, biochemistry, and so on, with B to A grades.

I took the MCAT and got a 29 (12 verbal, 8, 9) and retook it right before they switched to the new MCAT, and got 31 (11 verbal, 10, 10).

I have a summer of clinical volunteering (can get more if I need), many shadowing hours in lots of different specialties, and have done research with a poster presentation. I also have very strong volunteering leadership experience with a non-profit community empowerment organization I coordinated (1000s of hours). I also part-owned a restaurant during undergrad and worked nearly full-time, and have been a tutor and landscaper during this post-bacc program. I'm a financially-disadvantaged candidate, although not an under-represented minority.

I have an extremely strong letter of recommendation from a neuroanatomy professor, a good letter from a histology professor, a strong letter from my research PI, a strong letter from my volunteering regional coordinator, and a letter or two from doctors I have shadowed (one stronger, the other good).