observation hours for non-trad

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

loksuzler

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a non-grad student looking to apply to DPT programs this summer-- one glaring problem on my application will be observation hours-- I'm just now starting to get some hours in and if I want to apply early it will limit those hours even more-- plus add on trying to juggle work and baby it's hard to get a ton of hours in-- I'm wondering how this will affect my application...do you think it I should wait off on applying this summer and apply later in Fall? or just apply & see how it goes-- what is a good number to shoot for?

I'm inclined to think that observation is to ensure you are serious about the field- and I can see as a newly graduated undergrad how a lot of exposure would be important- but as an older student I've worked in many different professional environments and I know a good thing when I see it- I know this is something that I want to do and would be happy doing-- at least that's how I plan on selling it if the admissions committee asks hahaha :)

Any advice is welcome & appreciated since I obviously don't have a counselor to talk about this stuff with.

Members don't see this ad.