Obtaining Letters of Recommendations

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ethereal_goldfish

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone!

I am currently a pre-vet student and would really like advice from current students/veterinarians/etc. about how to obtain letters of recommendations. Specifically, about asking professors. Is it a bad idea to ask a professor for a LoR if you have never done any research for them (ie. they don't know you very well), even though you took two of their classes and did well in them? Also, I don't know why, but I just find asking a veterinarian or anyone else for a LoR to be very intimidating! Any advice would help! Maybe include examples of how you obtained your LoR and from who? I am thinking of applying for veterinary schools this coming cycle, but I am having a hard time with the LoR and PPI evaluations. I just don't feel like I know my professors well enough. I have a veterinarian in mind I can ask already, and my supervisor for my lab internship. However, that is only two people, when I need three. If I can not obtain a third LoR, I will most likely have to take a year off and apply next year.

Members don't see this ad.

First, I think it's good that you're looking for variety in your LORs.
Second, I have always been told to get LORs from people who know you well.

On those notes, asking for LORs is a bit scary, but it doesn't have to be intimidating. Especially vets, they know what you are going through applying for vet schools, so I would just ask them in person if they feel comfortable writing you an LOR for this coming year.