Oculoplastics

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

FernandoV

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
How competitive is it to get an oculoplastics fellowship?

I know that you need to apply during your 2nd year of residency so what do programs look for in applicants?

I am a 4th year student applying to ophtho and looking into the field. Does anyone have some suggestions/advice for someone at this point in the game in order to make them a more appealing applicant for fellowship? (obv matching into an ophtho program is a given; hopefully I make it past that hurdle!)

Members don't see this ad.

How competitive is it to get an oculoplastics fellowship?

Very competitive. There are few fellowship positions open in any given year.

I know that you need to apply during your 2nd year of residency so what do programs look for in applicants?

Hard to say. Strong recommendations from your program director and also from oculoplastic surgeons who you have worked with are always good. Since most fellowships are small--one fellow usually every other year--there is no typical candidate. Having an interest in surgery that extends beyond the eye can help, particularly if you did a surgery internship and have some general plastic surgery exposure. In the end, the preceptor probably selects by picking the applicant he/she thinks they will get along well with since they will usually be working closely together for a couple of years.

I am a 4th year student applying to ophtho and looking into the field. Does anyone have some suggestions/advice for someone at this point in the game in order to make them a more appealing applicant for fellowship? (obv matching into an ophtho program is a given; hopefully I make it past that hurdle!)