Office procedures

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

PMD1982

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi Guys,
I'm in my third year of IM residency. I'm currently interviewing for primary care jobs. I am finding that one question often asked during interviews is in regards to outpatient procedures. (which procedures am I proficient at, etc) Like most IM residents, I am very comfortable with insertion of central venous catheters, draining ascites, etc. If I were to practice hospital medicine, then I would be all set. However, I want to do primarily ambulatory care. I have little experience with typical office procedures such as freezing warts, skin biopsies...
My question(s) is, where did you most of you learn your outpatient procedures, residency or not until you had your first job? At this point, I don't think I will learn anything further in terms of office procedures during my residency so are there any useful books to read up on?
Suggestions?

Thanks!!

Members don't see this ad.

I am just a lowly fourth yr. But, this is the exact reason I am not comfortable with IM. After thinking for a long time I only applied to FM this yr. My day will go so much faster if I can do procedures...
Keeping my fingers crossed.

Hi Guys,
I'm in my third year of IM residency. I'm currently interviewing for primary care jobs. I am finding that one question often asked during interviews is in regards to outpatient procedures. (which procedures am I proficient at, etc) Like most IM residents, I am very comfortable with insertion of central venous catheters, draining ascites, etc. If I were to practice hospital medicine, then I would be all set. However, I want to do primarily ambulatory care. I have little experience with typical office procedures such as freezing warts, skin biopsies...