Official 2008 Usmle Step 1 Experiences and Scores Thread

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

lion

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Greetings my brothers and sisters ,

I am new member here and will be taking my boards in another few months .
I thought I would start a thread devoted to a compilation of 2008 usmle experiences . I don't have anything to report as yet since my test is in a few month but anyone who has taken the test in 2008 please share with us your experience and feedback so we can keep the SDN tradition alive !

Good Luck :luck:

"Never , never , never , never Give up ! "

Members don't see this ad.

Somehow I am not able to edit the title so it says 2008 thread .
Can the moderators edit the title ?

I guess the earilest date this year was in mid January, so it may take another 2 weeks to get the results of January.

Members don't see this ad :)
I took it on 1/24 (1 week ago!). I studied for ~5 wks, taking days off here and there.

I prepared almost entirely by using FA 2008 and UW. I finished 94% of the UW questions and ended up at about 68% overall correct. I found that at the end, I could answer close to 95% of the questions I'd seen before correctly, but when I took new tests over unused questions I would still be lucky to get 70%.

I read through FA about 2x, hitting some of the harder stuff more. I also read a little of BRS Physio because I felt weak (esp. with Renal). I also had an Appleton and Lange practice question book which I did, so that's another 500 or so practice questions and going over the answers.

Finally, I'm at a school with an accelerated basic science curriculum, so I'd finished 1 year of rotations before taking the test. Whatever that was worth...

DAY OF EXAM: