Oh ****, the background check

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

cemented

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
So i just remembered that I have to submit a background check, crap, I have some stuff on my record I am not all that proud of. 6 years ago, I was at a party and the cops busted up everyone and charged us all with possession of drugs (pot). I wasn't doing anything but a whole bunch of us got arrested. Should I kiss my offer goodbye?
Please do not have the balls to critize me, we all have things in our past that we don't want others to know about, I am just being honest. Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

Can you get it off your record? (I'm not a lawyer, but maybe you can? Since it was a while ago..)

Members don't see this ad :)
No, its too late for that. I guess I am slightly nervous but I have had freinds get into medical school and pharmacy school with worse stuff on their records. But still I am slightly nervous

I would call the school and tell them. If you try and hide something from them they will have no choice, but if you give them time to take it into account then it may not affect your application at all.

I think they are looking more for outstanding warrants and serious offenses like felonies that could possibly restrict your ability to get an intern license, which is required for pharmacy school. You should be ok, but give them a call. I'm sure Phyllis would be more than happy to help you out.

I would call Mercer right away and explain your situation to Jordana.

I don't think I am going to Mercer, I think I am going to UNC

Then call UNC right away, and be upfront with your situation. Better to find out their policy now, than later.