Older nontrad with foreign bachelors...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Kastalia

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all!

Just embarking on this path and would greatly appreciate some advice...

I'm a 35 yo with undergrad in chemistry from a foreign county and masters and doctorate from top US schools (in epidemiology).

I have a good but demanding academic job that I want to keep. Is this realistic? I just enrolled in a second bachelors at Columbia GS and plan to take 2 courses per semester starting in the fall. I want to do this right and have as many options as possible.

Of course If at all possible I would like to avoid taking inorganic and organic chemistry + labs and take more advanced courses instead but I realize that this may not be feasible...thoughts?

Any advice from others with similar background would be greatly appreciated. I must admit that I am anxious at times due to my age and all the additional years of school.

Thanks in advance!!!!

:flame:

Members don't see this ad.

Your case is unique so contact some med schools you would like to attend and ask their opinions. Ultimately though the system is geared to want what every 20 something med student has, strong undergrad required science, bachelor's, and strong mcat. It's hard to get through the automatic filters without those. I returned with my doctorate and found the fastest and easiest path was just give the schools what they wanted. Being an undergrad again stinks but there are advantages in maturity.

Best of luck

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk

Reactions: 1 user
DrMikeP

Thank you!

I think at this point I should just start with prereqs I haven't taken ever before and see how it goes. I've been an overachiever academically (3.9+/top of class for previous degrees.) so I can't imagine that this step will be too difficult but I am anxious anyway.