On campus vs off campus while in Veterinary School (UW Madison)?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Do you prefer living near campus or a little off campus for veterinary school?

• Near campus

Votes: 3 42.9%
  • A little off campus

Votes: 4 57.1%

• Total voters

sstorm038

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am planning on applying to UW-Madison Veterinary School this summer and gaining residency in Wisconsin as I am applying. I was wondering if living closer to campus is more beneficial than living a little off campus (10-15 min drive)? I know as an undergrad I really liked living close to campus because I could go home for lunch during my breaks in classes. I could go to study groups or office hours more readily. I know veterinary school is a lot more rigorous, so I'm not sure I would even be getting the chance to go home for lunch even if I did live close. Near campus the apartments are more expensive and not as nice, but a little off campus the apartments are cheaper and a little nicer. What do fellow veterinary school students feel works best for them?

Members don't see this ad.

Go off campus. Staying on campus means you're more likely to be caught up in the undergrad crowd, noisy parties, and general hub-ub that comes with it. The only break you might have during vet school is your lunch, where it's best to bring a lunch with you to school a la high school-esque. Plus a lot of your fellow classmates will likely be living off-campus too, some perhaps closer to you than they could have been if you lived on-campus.

Personally, I'd go with the cheaper way and look into the housing that's further from campus. 10 minutes isn't too bad of a commute, especially if rent isn't too expensive and you have the option of public transport in the area. I did this for my Senior year of undergrad and it wasn't that bad. Just pack a lunch before you leave home.

Members don't see this ad :)