On "Science" LORs

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Zguy

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone,

I am a nontrad that will be applying next year. My question is regarding the science LORs that I need to get in the process. I finished a degree in microbiology in 2014. I went on to get another degree in clinical lab science and to become certified, graduating this year. Generally, everyone suggests using prerequisite courses for the science LORs. I would much rather use my professors from CLS as they know me 1000 times better, and can speak of my most recent work ethic.

The professors I was choosing between taught clinical microbiology/parasitology/mycology, hematology, and immunohematology/immunology. I could also use one that taught clinical chemistry. What do you guys think? I have heard pretty consistently that people successfully recatagorize their CLS classes as BCPM, but does it seem risky? The rule of thumb I have seen is to get the best letters you can, and I know these individuals would give me such letters. Thank you in advance.

Zguy

Members don't see this ad.

1. a prereq letter helps everybody because those professors tend to understand the med school app process and have maybe been cranking out LORs since before you were born. try to get one.
2. letters from science profs who actually know you are arguably better because they're not boring cookie cutter. get some of those.
3. AMCAS rules make it very clear what's BCPM and what's not.

Best of luck to you.

1. a prereq letter helps everybody because those professors tend to understand the med school app process and have maybe been cranking out LORs since before you were born. try to get one.
2. letters from science profs who actually know you are arguably better because they're not boring cookie cutter. get some of those.
3. AMCAS rules make it very clear what's BCPM and what's not.

Best of luck to you.