One month to go need to improve score by eight points....

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

steelersfan1243

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Is this even plausible?

I am taking the MCAT January 2015. I have been on and off studying for the MCAT for almost three months now and I am just beginning to realize I was never retaining anything. I took Kaplan's diagnostic six days ago and got a 22 (9PS/5V/8BS). I then studied physics (to what I thought was a good amount) for a week and took another Kaplan full length and got a 25 (8PS/10V/7BS). As a senior applying this Spring I really feel like the MCAT is the last piece to the puzzle and thought I could get a 33, is this still doable? I was going to heavy content review the General Chemistry sections again, but for Bio I was guessing everything. I never took physiology, and I thought I went over it in its entirety when I first studied the MCAT, but everything was foreign to me on the test. With serious content review can this score increase be done? What would you do? Any help would be appreciated, please and thank you

Also my current study materials are Kaplan Online course, all TBR books, and EK 101 Verbal

Should I get the EK set for cramming? Can it be done with TBR?

Members don't see this ad.

No, you need EK over TBR. TBR is really good, but quite dense and takes some time getting through them (~3 months). It can be done, but it's going to be very difficult to improve 8 pts in 1 month. Good luck.

if i had to guess, i definitely think you can score 10-11 on ps/bs since kaplan's ps/bs are usually harder and intense calcs.
your verbal is all over the place tho, and kaplan verbal isn't even a good predictor of how you'll do on the actual mcat.
so i can't comment if a 33 is possible without knowing a baseline for your verbal.