Opinions on my chance, please!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

AltitudeClimb

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all,

If you would evaluate my situation and let me know your honest opinion (Seems to be no problem here) of the chance I have to get into a DO School.

I graduated in December of 2010 with my Bachelors. Attended a community college for two years before that. While in school, I never wanted to be a doctor, but I have recently wanted to pursue this as an option. I have been working at a food company in Quality Assurance since May 2011.

While in college I worried more about hanging out with people and running than grades. I spent little to no time studying. Average college student I suppose... Since graduating, I have matured a lot as a person by simply getting older (25 yrs old now), going through life, having a "real job", paying bills, managing time better etc...

I know my GPA is not the greatest, but here are my stats:

Overall

sGPA = 3.04
3.44 non science
cGPA = 3.20

To break it down even further:

University

cGPA = 2.98
sGPA = 2.63

Community College

cGPA = 3.40
sGPA = 3.63

-------------------------------------------------------------------

Here are my science grades:

A - Biology 1 - 100 level (I got a "D" the first time, "A" the second time
A - Biology 2 - 100 level
A - Chem 1 - 100 level
B - Chem 2 - 100 level
C - Organic 1 - 300 level
B - Organic 2 - 300 level
B - Physics 1 - trig based
A - Microbiology - 200 level
A - Nutrition 100 level
A - Nutrition 200 level
A - Statistics
C - Trigonometry
C - Comparative Vertebrate Anatomy - 300 level
C - Ecology - 300 level
C - Gross Anatomy - 400 level
B - Biochemistry - 300 level
B - Mammalian Physiology - 300 level
C - Immunology - 400 level
A - Freshman Seminar - 100 level
B - Senior Seminar/Research Paper - 400 level

----------------------------------------------------------