Options if I don't match

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

WarmFuzzies

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys,

I'm an osteopathic student trying to match into EM, but unfortunately my prospects aren't looking so hot this year. I didn't match into an AOA position and I only interviewed at one ACGME spot. Soo I'm basically assuming I'll have to scramble during the SOAP next week. Assuming that I am also unable to scramble into an EM spot, I am just trying to weigh my options as to what to do next - try to scramble into a prelim year and reapply to EM next year or bite the bullet and go for an IM spot. While my academic record is probably a bit below average for EM (see summary below), my main pitfall was probably sending in my applications late (2 weeks, and don't really have an excuse for that one). My question is what kind of effect would doing a prelim year have on my candidacy? Would it even improve my stock? If so, is it better to do a Surg-prelim or medical-prelim?

IM was always a strong second option for me and even though I've REALLY wanted to do EM all four years of med school, if I do start an IM residency, I don't know if I would have the stones to risk trying to transfer out into a different specialty.

COMLEX/USMLE 1: 485/195
COMLEX/USMLE 2: 564/235
Extracurric: Class council pres x2 years, did two EM electives during MS1 and MS2
Research: 2 neurosurgery publications while in undergrad
Work exp prior to MS: Ambulance EMT x1 year, ED Trauma Tech x1.5 years

Any advice would be greatly appreciated! Thanks guys!

Members don't see this ad.

Hey guys,