About the ads

1. Check out PREMED.me!
    Offers FREE service to help premeds manage their applications and MCAT study calendars and identify schools to target.

Organic Chem

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical Allopathic [ MD ]' started by ianna, Apr 2, 2012.

1. SDN is a nonprofit organization. Services are made possible through the generous support of SDN members and sponsors. Thank you.
  1. ianna

ianna

Pre-Health (Field Undecided)

SDN Members don't see this ad. (About Ads)
    Hello,

I am currently a freshman in a University and am taking general chemistry. I have shadowed doctors and volunteered at health institutions during high school and college, and I am interested in applying for Medical School later on ( in 2 years).

I have heard that Organic Chemistry is really a killer. Therefore, I was wondering if I could take organic chemistry in community college in the summer to acquaint myself before I re-take it at a university during my second year? If I do choose that route, will the Med School admissions look down upon it?

Any help and guidance will be really appreciated.

-Anna
  2. LazyElemental

LazyElemental

Pre-Medical
    SDN 2+ Year Member
    Just sit in on the summer course offered by your university. Cheaper and you don't have to explain anything
  3. DVolle

DVolle

Medical Student
    SDN 2+ Year Member
    Instead of spending the money and the headache of taking two semesters of orgo in one summer (possible GPA killer), buy Organic Chemistry For Dummies the summer before you take orgo at university and study up.

http://www.amazon.com/Organic-Chemistry-I-For-Dummies/dp/0764569023
  4. twizzlers713

twizzlers713

SDN 2+ Year Member
    organic is too much for summer imo. take it once, work at it, do well. it's overhyped
  5. xroc

xroc

Medical Student
    SDN 2+ Year Member