Organic Chemistry Self Study Book?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

spmac89

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello, I'm new to the Student Doctor Network, and I've search this posts. I've read some people saying not to study Orgo ahead, yet I still want to look over before my class starts in the Fall. (Because I'm taking classes as Post-Bac, I think I won't have much time after volunteering and studying)

My school uses Wade's Organic Chemistry 8th Edition, yet I don't think it fits me. (The book does not explain everything. I guess when you are taking class, it might be easier) I was wondering if anyone can give me an advice on what textbook is a good textbook for me to self study before my class actually starts.

The lists are:

Klein's Organic Chemistry
Wade's Organic Chemistry
Smith's Organic Chemistry
Brown's Organic Chemistry
McMurry's Organic Chemistry

Can someone help me out to choose a textbook that is easy to follow and understand?

Members don't see this ad.

I can't say enough about the book Organic Chemistry as a Second Language. They even have an organic chemistry II version. Not a textbook, but it's a great supplement.

Reactions: 1 user
^ I agree. It's a great starting point, but definitely not enough.

Members don't see this ad :)
You might want to try Bruice Organic Chemistry 7th edition- I was a bit put off by the reviews but I personally found it to be very straightforward

Everyone will have their own opinion on this, but I think the best way to get your feet wet with orgo would be an Orgo MCAT study guide. Anything more than that would probably be too much detail and useless to study at this point. I used the Princeton Review book in the middle of the semester and everything all of a sudden made sense after that.