Osteopathic: Still haven't submitted ERAS application

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

spj

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone,
So I have been in a tough situation. I am a DO student who wants to do general surgery but too keep it short, my Step I scores and other matters make my chances of getting into residency very very unlikely. So I haven't submitted my ERAS applications yet for a couple reasons. I don't want to but I know I need a back up, and I know this is horrible to say but I am looking for the least competitive option. So now I have a couple questions.

1) How horrible is it that I haven't sent out my applications yet and when is the latest I should send them?
2) Out of family medicine, internal medicine, and psych, which do you guys think is the least competitive?
(Again I realize this is horrible to ask because I actually respect all fields of medicine but honestly there are competitive and non competitive fields)
3) For FM, IM, and Psych what states or hospitals would you say are the least competitive?
4) Should I bother sending in a surgery LOR for lets say a FM residency? I am saying this because I have been only on surgery rotations so far and when I get to other rotations it will be in sept/oct and later.

Oh, and please be honest but not too harsh with your responses. It may not sound like it in my post but I am going through a really rough time with my situation.

Members don't see this ad.

what are your scores? and what is the awful situation you're in?

what are your scores? and what is the awful situation you're in?
I don't want to sound mean but I'm trying to keep some information personal, and I don't think it should effect a person's ability to help answer my questions.

Members don't see this ad :)
Out of FM, IM, and Psych why not go with something you like?

Out of FM, IM, and Psych why not go with something you like?