other options besides post-bacc 1-2 year programs? or has anyone been through post-bacc?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

veritas16

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am still an undergraduate but I do not have enough time in my schedule to fit the pre-med courses even though I have already fulfilled some of the requirements. From what I have read is that post-bacc programs can be even more challenging due to the fact that you are cramming in courses that people take over the course of 4 years in addition to studying for the MCAT. So I am wondering if anyone can give me any advice on this and what path I should take. I honestly plan on obtaining a PhD in the humanities first, then applying to medical school.

Members don't see this ad.

Stay in college and take those courses extra courses. You don't need to finish in 4 years. I might not have the most cred here on these forums as compared to others, but I would have definitely stayed and taken the pre-reqs if I wasn't going to get my MPH. It is most likely cheaper, and much easier as well (don't need to reapply and all that jazz)

I just want to point out that this question sounds fairly insane. This is not meant as a personal attack on you, but a comment on how you presented the information. You threw in, "I honestly plan on getting a PhD in the humanities first" like it was an afterthought. A five to eight year afterthought.

There are lots of people that start medical school with PhDs. Most of them, if given the opportunity to rewind the clock and start medical school five years earlier, would.