Otolaryngology Summer Research "Dilemma"

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

TLalo

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi guys! So I'm an MS1 and I'm interested in otolaryngology. I know it's early, I might change my mind, it's competitive, etc. Anyways I'd rather reach for a more competitive specialty so when the time comes to apply for residency, I will have everything I need under my belt.
I love research (worked as a clinical research associate for 3 years before med school) and I have the opportunity to work on 2 projects in otolaryngology for the summer between MS1 and MS1. Both are very different and both are really exciting and I am am having a really hard time deciding between the 2.

One is translational research, working in an animal lab:
  • As a medical student I really get to do everything: surgeries, monitoring/testing the animals for the different characteristics that we are interested in, data analysis, etc. Also we get to do a poster presentation the following spring.
  • On the plus side: will be working on 2 research studies at the same time because after the animal surgery we are looking at 2 different things. Kill one bird with 2 stones and maybe my name on 2 publications...
  • Since it is a translational study, there are a not of people involved: 4 attendings in different departments/sub-specialties, and already 7 students+residents so I don't know if this will hurt my chances to be on a publication (so many people how much can you contribute?)
  • Last point and I don't know if this matters: the person who will be personally mentoring me is a phd and not an ENT (but this IS an ENT research). Of the other attendings on this projects, 2 are ENTs but I won't be closely working with them.
  • Paid
The other project is clinical research: