Overwhelmed, but need to start studying ASAP

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ChemCrazy

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all!

I graduated in May with a B.S. in biochemistry and plan on taking the MCAT on January 19th.

I have the Kaplan set, ordered EK 9th edition, EK 101 Verbal, EK 1001 for the sciences, and AAMC question packs, guide, and flashcards. I briefly checked out Khan Academy yesterday.

It dawned on me that I should have taken the MCAT at least a year ago, but alas, this isn't the place to explain that. Now, I feel as though I have forgotten everything and the Kaplan Bio chapters I checked out (kidney and other anatomy) were never covered in my curriculum. That's why this morning I bought literally every other prep I listed.

I have about 11-12 weeks to study with Christmas break, so how does one go about content review without burning out? Are the books I ordered sufficient? I read about BR, but I need advice on whether that money would better be spent on practice exams.

Basically, I would not mind committing the 7 hours a day I had planned to if I knew I was doing the right thing/ something worthwhile to getting a good score. After having learned so much the last 4 years, it's physically paining me that I don't feel it prepared me for this exam. My stress level is highly elevated and I haven't even started.

Finally, would it be better to read quickly through both sets and then watch videos on the topic, or to take detailed notes on one? I want to be focused on FL within 2 months.

Members don't see this ad.

Are there any parts of the Kaplan set that are good (or great)? I think I read that Biology and Biochemistry weren't bad, but I'm not sure.