PA student, applying to medical school.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Letizia

Letizia
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Okay, maybe someone has posted something similar on this site and if so, I will apologize in advance for being repetitive.
I am a 23 year old student, I am currently completing my Masters to become a Physician Assistant. I thought this career would be a great choice, but the more time I spend doing my clinical rotations (especially in the OR), the more I wish I went to medical school. I do enjoy what I am able to do as a PA, but would like to do more. Therefore, I intend on taking the MCAT in April and apply to medical school entering Fall 2013. I am still going to complete the PA program and earn my BS/MS in December of 2012.
I started off my undergraduate years with less than mediocre grades, I had a B's, C's, D's, and I think a couple of A's. Beginning my Junior year I really started to buckle down and did not score below a B+. I currently hold a 3.6 overall GPA (all undergraduate). My graduate GPA is a 4.0. My questions are:
1. Do you think my initial years of bad grades will hurt my chances to get into medical school?
2. Do you think I will have a hard time studying for the MCAT exam, seeing as I haven't done Gen Chem or Organic for over 2 years? I looked at some of the material the other day and I remember doing it, but wouldn't be able to explain it to someone if they asked.
3. Do you think my wanting to go to medical school after PA school will benefit me? or hurt me? (possibly make it look like I don't know what I want to do).
Thank You so much for any responses.
Oh, also, I have participated in research in Switzerland (a family member of mine lives there), and will be doing a research thesis for the PA program. Do you think this will suffice in applying to a research heavy school?
Hope someone can help me! :)

Letizia

Members don't see this ad.