PA vs MD (free vs debt)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ua2011

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I'm trying to decide my life and finally make a decision this year. I know I want to enter the field of medicine (not nursing, pharmacy, ect). I have been working in a hospital for 3 years, I have my Bachelors degree, and I know I enjoy working with patients. I have all the pre-requisites for both PA and MD schools, but still studying for the MCAT. I'm trying to decide in what capacity I would like to practice medicine either as a PA or MD. I decided if I do pursue PA I will apply for the NHSC scholarship, which provides a living stipend + cost of tuition and fees for two years of service in an undeserved area (the hospital I've been working at treats the undeserved and is a government funded). I believe I will have a very high likelihood of receiving the scholarship. If I choose MD I would not choose the NHSC scholarship because I don't think I could commit 4 years to a certain specialty. I made a pros and cons list of the two below.

About me:
Single, male, 25yo, with no desire to get married or have kids, no undergrad debt.
I feel like my heart is telling me to be an MD, but PA seems the safer and less risky route (brain).

PA

Pros:
1. No debt (NHSC scholarship)
2. Shorter time to complete education
3. More balanced lifestyle (time for family, friends, vacations, ect).
4. Buy home/car MUCH sooner
5. Ability to go into different specialties and not be stuck

Cons:
1. Lack of full autonomy (I like making decisions and being in control)
2. Possible lack of being fully fulfilled (I enjoy learning the details of how things work).
3. Lack of higher earning potential or moving up the ladder (feeling stuck).
4. Lack of expertise

MD

Pros:
1. Being an expert
2. Stronger desire to be an MD (vs PA).
3. Higher future income earning potential.
4. Prestige of being a "Dr."

Cons: