Pacific University PsyD

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

princessrosered

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Does anyone know anything about the Pacific University PsyD program in Oregon? Is anyone thinking of applying?

Members don't see this ad.

I am a 5th-year advanced standing student there, currently working on dissertation and applying for internship. Is there anything in particular you'd like to know?

I am a 5th-year advanced standing student there, currently working on dissertation and applying for internship. Is there anything in particular you'd like to know?

Actually,yes. My first question is about the internship match rates. They are a bit lower than the average match rates- why do you yhink that is? Is an apa/appic internship just not necessary, or do people try to match but are unable to do so?
Also, would you say that there is a particular theoretical orientation to the program? It is difficult to tell from the info. on the website.
I am also curious about the attrition rates. Obviously you stuck with the program, but something like 6-7% of people dropped out each year over the last couple years, can you speak to that at all? Are the classes just so large that some people end up there who really don't want to be there?
Thanks so much for this- I really appreciate your answers to these questions and any other information you think that I should know at this point!

Members don't see this ad :)
I can answer all of your questions for you. The match rate is low, because Pacific admits way too many students into the program, and most students want to try and match to places in Oregon and Washington. Restricting geographical location for internship is the biggest problem students have. I myself have to do the same thing, because my family is here and I am unwilling to move out of state for my internship.