Paying off Student Loan debt as a Psychiatrist

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

twospadz

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
For those practicing or even residents, how hard has it been for you to pay off your student loan debt as a psychiatrist?

Members don't see this ad.

Its fine. You have several options: 1) pay the bare minimum and die with your loans 2) PSLF/IBR 3) Live like a resident for 3-5 years after residency and pay them all off. I may have missed other things.

Case study: attending for 2 years. I work 2 jobs, 48hrs wk total. I pay about 35% of my take home (after maxing retirement/health insurance/taxes) from the 2 jobs toward loans each month. If I only worked 40 hrs it would be 50% of my take home. My spouse and I live slightly better than we did when I was a resident (when I used to moonlight 12-20 hrs /wk). We still rent an apt and drive a cheap leased car ( though it is a bmw). Hopefully, within 6 years my loans will be paid off and We can buy a house. We go on lots of reasonable vacations, have been to Europe twice this year, and definitely live a comfortable middle class lifestyle.

So, no, it's not that hard as long as you're willing to work extra, live like you're middle class, and not give in to the temptation to buy a $500k doctor house (which, trust me, I'd love, but I know I can't afford until the loans are paid).

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Reactions: 3 users
Members don't see this ad :)